1 August - 15 November 2020
23 days from now
10am to 5pm Tue to Sun, 7 days during school holidays

Free exhibition

Since 2006, the Kilgour Prize has encouraged innovation within portrait and figurative painting. In 2020, the prize is now in its tenth year.

The KILGOUR PRIZE 2020 will award $50,000 for the most outstanding work of art, and a People’s Choice of $5,000 to the painting voted most popular by the general public.

Every year the Gallery receives hundreds of applications from artists across every state and territory of Australia. Applications are submitted online using a high quality jpeg of the work. The name of the artist is not revealed to the judges during the selection process for the finalists for exhibition, or for the winner of the prize - making the Kilgour Prize an equitable prize for artists at all career stages.

Jack Noel Kilgour (1900–1987) was an Australian artist well-known for his academic approach to landscape and portrait painting. In 1987 Kilgour bequeathed funds for the creation of a major figurative and portrait art competition to be run in perpetuity at Newcastle Art Gallery. As one of Australia’s major art prizes, The Kilgour Prize continues a long history of benefaction to the Gallery. 

The Kilgour Prize is financed by the Jack Noel Kilgour bequest, administered by The Trust Company, Part of Perpetual. For more information about the prize including its history, application form and frequently asked questions, visit the Kilgour Prize page.


Congratulations to the 30 finalists selected by our judges for 2020 Rachel Arndt, Gallery Programs and Touring Exhibitions Manager, Museums and Galleries of NSW; Stephen Gilchrist, curator and Lecturer Art History, The University of Sydney and Lauretta Morton, Director Newcastle Art Gallery.

An Sheng

Andrew Bennett

Anh Nguyen

Ben Ryan

Brittany Jones

Bronni Krieger

Corinna Howell

Craig Handley

Dagmar Cyrulla

Daniel Butterworth

Elizabeth Austin

Erik Krebs-Schade

Esther Erlich

Greg Creek

Jacqueline Hennessy

Jordan Richardson

Joshua McPherson

Kenneth Lambert

Kerry McInnis

Kylie Melinda Smith

Lileana Colarelli

Lori Pensini

Lynn Savery

Melissa Ritchie

Michael Bell

Oliver Shepherd

Peter Gardiner

Tony Costa

Tracy Dods

Wendy Sharpe

The KILGOUR PRIZE 2020 winner will be announced on Friday 31 July 2020 at Newcastle Art Gallery. More details to come shortly.

To stay informed join our enews and select 'The Kilgour Prize' as an interest.



Newcastle Art Gallery
1 Laman Street
Cooks Hill